At the faculty, training is carried out in two areas of education — “Pediatrics” and “Medical biology”. Since 1972, admission has been started in the direction of education “Pediatrics”, since 2020 — in the direction of education “Folk medicine”. In 1977, the 1st and 2nd Pediatric faculties were organized. In 2020, the 1st Pediatric Faculty was reorganized into the Faculty of 1st Pediatrics and Folk Medicine.

Mission of the 1st Pediatric and Folk Medicine Faculty and the educational program “Pediatrics” is to train a general pediatrician to provide qualified medical care to the population, which combines the latest achievements in education, science and medicine to improve the quality of medical care and improve the health of the population with priority for the children’s population.

Vision — An advanced higher education institution based on the principles of the academic system of health and science, is a center where professionals work together to develop and transfer knowledge about health. The faculty unites the efforts of doctors, researchers, teachers and other specialists who are inspired by a common mission and share the same values — taking care of children’s health.

— people (adults and children, students, employees)
— competence (in science, education, medical process, management)
— transparency (openness to society; openness to the new; openness of the decision—making process)
— national traditions
— collectivity (joint decision-making in a group of students, masters, doctoral students and residents).

The values of the educational program in the direction of “Pediatrics” are: quality, excellence, efficiency, creativity and innovation, individual and institutional responsibility, employer satisfaction, motivation and development of the academic community, teamwork, internal and interinstitutional communication, proactive partnership with academic institutions, governmental and non-governmental organizations in the country and abroad.

In different years, the deans of the faculty were:
— 1972-1976 – DSc, Professor Nazarmukhamedov Fakhriddin Halmukhamedovich;
— 1976-1977 – DSc, Professor Akilov Otaulla Turakhanovich;
— 1977-1979 – DSc, Professor Nozim Zokirov Olimzhonovich;
— 1979-1983 – PhD, Associate Professor Abduazimov Abdulla Abduazimovich;
— 1983-1989 – DSc, Professor Umid Zufarovich Kodirov;
— 1989-1996 – DSc, Professor Mazgutov Vili Zamirovich;
— 1996-1998 – DSc, Professor Rakhimov Saidolim Anvarovich;
— 1998-1999 – DSc, Professor Fayziev Khamid Nishonovich;
— 1999-2009 – DSc, Professor Hakim Kayumovich Shodiev;
— 2007-2019 – DSc, Professor Agzamkhodzhaev Talat Saidolimovich;

From 2019 to the present, the dean of the faculty is DSc, Professor Rakhmatullaev Akmal Abadbekovich.

Among the students and undergraduates of the faculty there are laureates of the State awards “Mard uglon”, “Zulfiya”, the badge “Mehr-sakhovat”, the state scholarship of the President of the Republic of Uzbekistan, the state scholarship named after Ibn Sina, Islam Karimov, nominal scholarships of outstanding scientists of our institute. Students of the faculty regularly take prizes at international and republican scientific Olympiads, various scientific, creative competitions and sports competitions.